Tags

, ,

This is my first ever blog post and while I was trying to think of the best way to start my gaze fell on the newly finished painting on my easel; my first subject.

An oil painting on one of the roses from my garden. 18 x 24″ in size.

When the canvas was primed and on the easel, the whiteness glared at me and I hesitated to start. I took control of the situation by painting a mid tone grey over the whole canvas, which took the starkness of the white away, I then sketched the flower petals roughly into position. My palette consisted of only a few colours: Cobalt Violet, Coeruleum Blue, Rose Madder, Cadmium Yellow and Titanium White. Only three brushes, all synthetic a size 6 filbert, an 1/4″ angle and a size 2 round.

The canvas sat on the easel for months, but once I started painting, in just four sessions a couple of hours long and it was done.  I knew what I wanted to do, but I hesitated due to my uncertainty about “getting it right”, I wasn’t sure that I would be able to take the knowledge of what I wanted to do into the practice of doing it. Luckily it has turned out okay.

2017-1

Thanks for visiting my new blog.

Abi

