Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A little while ago I took the opportunity to study the changes of light and shadows across a the length of a single day upon a still life setting.

The still life was set up near a set of double doors that faced north, this allowed for the morning sun to strike the set up directly followed eventually by a reflected afternoon light.

The following is a sequence taken from a power point presentation that I did for this study.

light-across-the-morninglight-across-the-morning-2light-across-the-afternoonlight-across-the-afternoon-2light-across-the-evening

Whilst waiting for time to pass I also painted some quick colour studies in gouache, as I indicated in the slides.

I hope that you find these as interesting as I did, this was a fun project that eventually resulted in a few small oil paintings.

Abi

